Publishing House

Red Shoe

Shoe Icons

When in 2003 I have unexpectedly realized that I have started building up a shoe collection, I immediately understood that red shoes will be an important collection of its own. I was right. Shoe Icons collection now has about 200 pairs of red shoes from different periods and countries.

The route to this book was not short. The project was conceived several years ago and it was then that we met Maria Kozyakova, who wrote the main article for the book. Actually, we were hoping to make a beautiful album with pictures of red shoes, but we decided it was important to present our readers with a broader view on the phenomenon of red color, its historic and psychological aspects. Red is probably the only color, comprising so many most contradicting meanings.

This book is a collective enterprise and I am most grateful to everyone, who one way or another helped to accomplish it. Major part of the book is made up of pictures of the red shoes from our collection and want to thank my son Roman for his never-ending search for new ideas and perceptions, of the seemingly simple objects. I appreciate the contribution of Raisa Kirsanova with her historical insight into the significance of red in costume and everyday life.

We hope the readers will be equally interested in reading the articles and looking through the pictures. We look forward to the new project - Gold shoe.

Index

Издательство

Красная туфелька

Shoe Icons

Когда в 2003 году я вдруг обнаружил, что стал собирать обувную коллекцию, мне сразу показалось, что красная обувь будет ее важной самостоятельной частью. Так и получилось! Сейчас в коллекции Shoe Icons около 200 пар красной обуви самых разных периодов и стран.

Путь к книге был долгим. Проект был задуман несколько лет назад и тогда же мы познакомились с Марией Козьяковой, которая написала основную статью для книги. Собственно говоря, мы надеялись сделать красивый альбом с фотографиями красной обуви, но посчитали необходимым представить читателю более широкий взгляд на феномен красного цвета, на его исторический и психологический аспект. Красный, пожалуй, единственный цвет, который соединяет так много самых противоречивых значений в человеческом сознании.

Этот альбом - коллективный труд и я благодарен всем, кто так или иначе способствовал реализации этой идеи. Большую часть книги составляют фотографии красной обуви из нашей коллекции и я благодарен моему сыну Роме, за его постоянные поиски, за новые идеи и взгляды на, казалось бы, самые простые объекты. Огромная благодарность всему коллективу виртуального музея Shot Icons за их постоянное желание сделать книгу еще интереснее. Мы благодарим Раису Мардуховну Кирсанову за ее интерес к проекту и исторический экскурс о значении красного цвета в истории костюма и в быту.


Мы очень надеемся, что читателям будет одинаково интересно читать статьи и рассматривать фотографии. Впереди у нас новый проект - Золотая туфелька.

Картотека