Fauna of the buttonhook world

Shoe buttonhook - a simple and functional device intended to facilitate buttoning of the shoes, became a widely spread household accessory in the second half of the 19-th century.

Victorian times are often described as the time when people strived to rationalize and mechanize even the simplest routine operations. But the interest to the history of this period cannot be explained by simple aspiration of the Victorians for technical perfection. The beauty of the objects, even of the most utilitarian ones, has never been pushed to the background, aesthetics was never less important than functionality.

Buttonhooks, that became highly collectible now, specifically because manufacturers regarded them not only as mass produced goods, but also as a way to show their creativity, are a vivid example of this approach. Handles for buttonhooks made of wood, nut, stone, ivory, silver and later of plastics, covered themes and subjects, which were difficult to imagine.

One the rare types of buttonhooks are the ones with handles depicting animals. Shoe Icons collection has 6 buttonhooks covering the subject, which we present to you in a small photo exhibition that we called Fauna of the buttonhook world.
Index

Фауна обувных крючков

Крючок для обуви - простое и функциональное приспособление, задачей которого было облегчить процесс застегивания обуви на пуговицах, стал распространенной принадлежностью каждого дома во второй половине 19 века.

Особенностью викторианского периода считается стремление людей рационализировать и механизировать даже самые простые бытовые операции. Однако обаяние этого времени невозможно объяснить простым стремлением викторианцев к техническому совершенству. Красота предмета, даже самого обыденного и распространенного никогда не уходила на второй план, эстетика была не менее важна, чем функциональность.

Ярким примером такого творчества являются крючки для застегивания обуви и перчаток, ставшие в наше время предметом коллекционирования именно потому, что производители рассматривали их не просто как массовую продукцию, но и возможность проявить творчество. Ручки для крючков, изготавливавшиеся из таких материалов как дерево, минералы, слоновая кость, серебро, а позже и пластик, выпускались в таком разнообразии форм и сюжетов, которое трудно себе представить.

Одним из редких видов являются крючки с ручками в виде животных. В нашей коллекции имеется 6 таких крючков, которые мы и представляем Вам в виде небольшой выставки “Фауна обувных крючков”.

Картотека