Centuries and Decades 1960s

1960s

The idyll of the fifties has ended. The young wanted to change the world and have risen against values of a bourgeois society of the parents. The conflict of "fathers and children", which never till now in history was beyond interpersonal attitudes, has undermined the traditional social device of a society. Young stirrer-up of trouble started to make a strong impact on cultural and economic life in the different countries and even aspired to influence politics.

The events of the sixties are ambiguous, but the resulting changes are appreciable till now. "The Golden Age of freedom" Ц was a general reaction against "values of the middle class" of the post-war years and against bourgeois respectabilities. The young aspired to change the world and to find inner enlightenment, having addressed to oriental philosophy. Sexual revolution, dream of peace and love, "Flower Power", the anti-war slogan "Make Love Not War!" Ц this is by far incomplete picture of the sixties. However other side of freedom has not kept waiting to be manifested: moral descent, devaluation of such traditional universal values as responsibility, fidelity, sense of duty, proliferation of pornography, outspread of drug addiction. Youth associations, outspeaking against racial, social and class distinctions, and for the world peace was scattered by the end of the decade into various movement, including feminists, sexual minority, "travelers into other worlds" accompanied by LSD and other small and large communities, and even terrorist groupings. The dream of peace and love went phut.

The first thing the new generation was showing its protest with was its appearance. Having turned fashion upside down, they have found a way to shake society. Since the middle the fifties rock-and-roll generation refused to wear "decent" clothes, thus giving birth to new small boutiques. In the sixties the fashion industry was completely reoriented on youth. The well-known phrase attributed to Bridgitte Bordot - "Haute couture is for the elderly!" - in many respects reflects the mood of the decade. To stay afloat Houses of Haute couture have directed their eyes on "streets", which teemed with "rebellious" ideas. Now mums wanted to take after their daughters, and not after the refined ladies of the high society.

Designers did not want to lag behind the quickly changing whims of the new youth culture. The fashion was now guided by the image of "little girl" created by Mary Quant, not by the French Fashion houses. The ideological center and the generator of the ideas was "swinging" London where the most extravagant and stylish clothes were sold at the Carnaby Street and King Roads. However Parisian haute couture was not going to refuse its positions in the fashion industry. Young Yves Saint Laurent has challenged his constant clients with the "street" style, and for the first time in history of haute couture started to make rather inexpensive pret-a-porter clothes under YSL Rive Gauche brand. "Space style" of Courreges has shown the woman of the future: simple geometrical lines of clothes, a white material or psychedelic colors, and the integral attribute - synthetic booties with a flat sole and a square tip.

Sixteen-year model Twiggy was an embodiment of an ideal woman, though this notion is hardly applicable to her without entrenching upon the truth. At 19 she was so rich, that she did not have to work anymore. Her appearance - huge eyes, a flat figure of the teenager and long thin extremities Ц is the incarnation of female sexuality of the sixties. Short dress, large net color stockings, shoes looking like children's footwear Ц this was how "the infantile temptress" was dressed. This was the ideal woman of the decade with ill-defined attributes of femininity.

To the middle of the decade gradual truncation of female skirt has successfully come to the end with a birth of the well-known "mini". It bared female legs, opening new prospect for creativity to footwear designers. Boots (go-go boots) of various length, materials and colours have come into fashion. The fashion for boots has lasted for almost a decade. At the beginning they were with a wide boot top and were made of leather or synthetics. As the skirt moved upwards, the boots became longer and more tight-fitting. A "wet leather" effect, obtained by a special processing of leather or fabric, was extremely popular. The prices for leather at the market were incredibly high therefore designers gladly used achievements of modern technologies and alternative materials, which immediately filled up the market.

Almond-shaped tips and stilettos of the fifties have practically disappeared by 1963. Footwear acquired more rigid geometrical forms: the heel became wider and more stable. By the end of the decade the influence of ethnic, "country" and hippie styles have turned the heel into a massive and square chunk, sometimes extending to the basis Ц the feature that gradually turned into the well-known platform of the 70s.

The idols of decade The Beatles did their bit in the man's shoe fashion: half-boots with elastic inserts on each side after the Victorian fashion (Chelsea boots) and low boots with a side zipper and Cuban heel came back to fashion.


Index

Периоды 1960-1969 годы

1960-1969 годы

Идиллия пятидесятых закончилась. Молодые захотели изменить мир и восстали против ценностей буржуазного общества родителей. Конфликт отцов и детей, никогда до сих пор в истории не выходивший за рамки межличностных отношений, подорвал традиционное социальное устройство общества. Юные возмутители спокойствия стали активно воздействовать на культурную и экономическую жизнь в разных странах и также стремились влиять на политику.

События шестидесятых неоднозначны, но результаты произошедших перемен ощутимы до сих пор. «Золотой век свобод» - это была всеобщая реакция на “ценности среднего класса” послевоенных лет и буржуазные условности. Молодежь стремилась изменить мир и обрести внутреннее просветление, обратившись к восточной философии. Сексуальная революция, мечта о мире и любви, «власть цветов», антивоенный лозунг «Make Love, Not War!» - далеко неполная картина шестидесятых. Однако другая сторона свободы не заставила ждать своих проявлений: крушение морали, девальвация таких традиционных общечеловеческих ценностей как ответственность, верность, долг, распространение порнографии и наркотиков. Объединение молодых людей, высказывающих протест против расовых, социальных и классовых различий, за стремление к миру к исходу десятилетия рассыпалось на различные течения, включая феминисток, сексуальные меньшинства, «путешественников в другие миры» в компании ЛСД и другие мелкие и крупные сообщества, и даже террористические группировки. Мечта о мире и любви лопнула.

Прежде всего новое поколение демонстрировало протест своим внешним видом. Перевернув моду с ног на голову, они нашли способ потрясти общество. Начиная с середины пятидесятых поколение рок-н-ролла отказывалось носить приличную одежду, что привело к появлению небольших бутиков. В шестидесятые годы модная индустрия полностью переориентировалась на молодежь. Знаменитая фраза Бриджит Бордо «От-кутюр – это для пожилых!» во многом отражает настроение десятилетия. Дома Высокой моды, чтобы оставаться «в струе», обратили свой взор на улицы, которые кишели бунтарскими идеями. Теперь мамы хотели походить на дочек, а не на изысканных дам высшего общества.

Дизайнеры стремились не отставать от быстро изменяющихся прихотей новой молодежной культуры. Мода ориентировалась на образ «маленькой девочки», созданный Мэри Куант, а не на французские Дома мод. Идеологическим центром и генератором идей был свингующий Лондон, где на Карнаби Стрит и Кингз Роудз продавалось все самое экстравагантное и модное.

Однако парижский от-кутюр не собирался отказываться от своих позиций в индустрии моды. Молодой Ив Сен-Лоран бросил вызов своим постоянным клиентам “уличным” стилем, и впервые начал производить сравнительно недорогую одежду pret-a-porter под маркой YSL Rive Gauche. «Космический стиль» Куррэжа показал женщину будущего: простые геометрические линии одежды, белый материал или психоделические цвета и неотъемлемый атрибут - синтетические сапоги на плоской подошве с квадратными носами – чаще всего копировались в эти годы.

Идеал женщины, хотя это понятие к ней применимо с большой погрешностью против правды, воплощала шестнадцатилетняя манекенщица Твигги (в 19 лет она настолько разбогатела, что уже смогла уйти на покой). Ее внешность - огромные глаза, плоская фигурка подростка и длинные тонкие конечности – инкарнация женской сексуальности шестидесятых. Короткое платьице, цветные колготки крупного переплетения, туфельки на манер детской обуви – так одевалась «инфантильная соблазнительница», идеальная женщина десятилетия со слабовыраженными признаками женственности.

К середине десятилетия постепенное укорачивание женской юбки успешно завершилось рождением знаменитой «мини». Она обнажила женские ноги, открыв дизайнерам обуви новую перспективу для приложения их творческого потенциала. В моду вошли сапоги (go-go boots) различной длины, материалов и расцветок. Мода на сапоги затянулась почти на десятилетие. Сперва они были с широким голенищем и шились из кожи или синтетики. По мере «продвижения» длины юбки по направлению вверх, они стали длиннее и более облегающими. Чрезвычайно модным считался эффект мокрой кожи, получаемый при специальной обработке кожи или ткани. Цены на кожу на рынке были невероятно высокими, поэтому дизайнеры с удовольствием использовали достижения современных технологий и альтернативные материалы, которые молниеносно заполняли рынок.

Миндалевидный носок и каблук-шпилька конца пятидесятых к 1963 году практически исчезли. Обувь приобрела более геометрические жесткие формы: каблук стал намного шире и устойчивее, а к концу десятилетия под влиянием стилей этнического, крестьянского и хиппи стал массивным, квадратным, иногда расширяясь к основанию, что постепенно превратилось в знаменитую платформу 70-х. Кумиры десятилетия - "Битлз" - привнесли свою лепту в мужскую обувную моду: популярность приобрели полусапоги с эластичными вставками по бокам на викторианский манер (Chelsea boots) и невысокие сапоги с молнией сбоку на кубинском каблуке.

Картотека