Centuries and Decades 1900-1919s

1900-1919s

The beginning of the twentieth century has not brought anything new into the footwear design. Ladies continued to wear long skirts therefore it was seldom possible to have the pleasure to see their shoes. The most popular models of the previous century remained in a fashion until beginning of the First World War.

Quality of the cut and material was the main issue, when choosing footwear, not a style. High boots – buttoned or laced - remained the most widespread footwear for walking up till to 1920s. Luis’s heel and the oblique Cuban heel have slightly increased in height and reached 7 cm. Black was the most widespread color of the teens, though some neutrally pale colors began to appear in footwear.

Low heel pumps could be seen on the streets approximately from 1910. Open legs were still considered as obscenity. The only exceptions were boudoir shoes, which could be more seductive, and were made of silks, satin, velvet or brocade, decorattd with tapes, frills, pompons and laces.

Gradually decorating elements, characteristic for boudoir shoes began to appear on dress footwear. Evening footwear was adorned with with pompons and satin ribbons, and later walking shoes acquired big square metal buckles, sometimes inlaid with pearls or decorated by rhinestones. In due course their size decreased and closer to the twentieth their form became more delicate, round or oval, sometimes in the form of a bow.

The First World War has changed social relations and, first of all, the role of the woman in the society. Compelled to replace the men who have been called up for military service, on the workplaces, they for the first time had an opportunity to have their own financial means, and could spend them at their own discretion. Women spent money for their appearances and, first of all, for clothes and footwear.

Deficiency of the wartime has for the first time in history led to the reduction in length of a hem of a skirt. Despite of gloomy moods, footwear became brighter, and silk stockings became more transparent and sexual. New freedoms, which the war brought to women, meant, that the shoes should be more comfortable and less formal.

Index

Периоды 1900-1919 годы

1900-1919 годы

Начало двадцатого века не принесло ничего нового в обувной дизайн. Дамы продолжали носить длинные юбки, поэтому редко можно было иметь удовольствие видеть их обувь. Наиболее популярные модели века минувшего оставались в моде пока не началась Первая мировая война.

При выборе обуви руководствовались качеством кроя и материала, не особо обращая внимание на фасон. Высокие ботинки, застегивающиеся на пуговицы или на шнуровке, оставались самой распространенной обувью для улицы вплоть до 20-х. Каблук Людовика и скошенный кубинский каблук несколько увеличились по высоте и достигали 7 см. Черный был самым распространенным цветом 1900-х, хотя стала появляться обувь и нейтрально-бледных расцветок.

Туфли-лодочки на низком каблуке стали одевать на улицу примерно в 1910-е. Открытые ноги все еще считались непристойностью. Единственным исключение были будуарные туфли, которые могли быть более соблазнительными, и шились из атласа, шелка, бархата или парчи, украшались лентами, рюшем, помпонами и кружевом.

Постепенно элементы декорирования, характерные для будуаров стали появляться на обуви для выхода. Вечернюю обувь стали украшать помпонами и атласными лентами, а позднее на прогулочной обуви появились большие квадратные металлические пряжки, иногда инкрустированные жемчугом или декорированные стразами. Со временем их размер уменьшался и ближе к двадцатым их форма стала более аккуратной, круглой или овальной и иногда принимала форму бантика.

Первая мировая война изменила общественные отношения и, прежде всего, роль женщины в обществе. Вынужденные заменить мужчин, призванных в армию, на рабочих местах, они впервые получили возможность иметь собственные финансовые средства, и могли расходовать их на свое усмотрение. Женщины тратили деньги на свой внешний вид и, в первую очередь, на одежду и обувь.

Дефицит военного времени привел к первому в истории укорачиванию подола юбки. Несмотря на мрачные настроения, обувь стала более яркой, а шелковые чулки стали более прозрачными и сексуальными. Новые свободы, которые женщинам принесла война, означали, что их обувь должна быть более комфортной и менее формальной.

Картотека