Centuries and Decades 1940s

1940s

The fashion of the forties was under the influence of war, but has not disappeared absolutely as it might have been expected. Fashion magazines have not stopped the activity. They strongly recommended to women to look after themselves as well-groomed appearance helped to increase fighting spirit. This problem was not an easy one. In Europe and in the United States strict restrictions on use of materials and styles were imposed with the beginning of war, thus allowing to redirect the light industry and resources on for the needs of the military.

The most severe regulations were in respect to footwear: leather was exclusively used for the manufacture of military boots, and the only materials left for civilian use were felt, a hemp fibre, wood, rubber, synthetics and leather waste products. Regulations also has encompassed the styles, having limited the height of a heel: for example, in the United states it was allowed to wear heels no more than 2,5 cm high, while in the Great Britain - up to 5 cm. It was recommended to buy convenient footwear on a flat sole or wedges.

In the new conditions the fashion magazines advocated a new code of elegance, which set as an example "utilitarian" style. Women were recommended to buy practical quality goods, which would last more than one season. Make yourself practice was widely spread": recommendations taught how altered old things into new ones, so they could be used longer.

Shoes became heavier in appearance and have lost the elegance and the levity of the 30s. The platform and the cork wedge covered with fabric or leather were manufactured even before the war, but they were made without any covering, leaving the cork open to save up materials. "Vogue" recommended women "to revive" their footwear with the help of colour fringe or bright ribbons, which did not get under the strict restrictions of the regulations.

The problem of absence of stockings was solved with the help of cosmetic means. For example, a back seam was drawn the legs drew with brow liner pencil the procedure itself demanding considerable skill. Some beauty salons specialized on putting special shade on working women legs in the mornings to recreated the look of the stockings. Those who could not afford it shaded the legs with the help of chicory and tea leaves or had to wear socks.

The end of war did not lead to immediate lifting of the restrictions, many of which were still valid for a long time. "Fashion" revolution at the end of the decade was made be Christian Dior, who presented his collection in 1947. A silhouette offered by Dior, - small sloping shoulders, the tightened waist, highly lifted gorgeous bust and wide skirts up to ankles cultivated an image of a magnificent temptress. Authorities have been shocked with such a challenge when thrift and modesty still continued to remain among the public virtues. However women in Europe and America have accepted the style instantly. Named "New Look", the collection answered to deep desire of the society to somewhat quicker forget the burdens of war and to return to normal life where there were entertainments, fashion and feminity.

Massive platforms and wedges became inappropriate with the "New Look" style and have been replaced with narrow pumps and sandals. The Italian and French footwear designers aspired to narrow the heel to the utmost to render elegance and fragility to a new feminine silhouette.


Index

Периоды 1940-1949 годы

1940-1949 годы

Мода сороковых годов находилась под влиянием войны, но не исчезла совсем, как этого можно было бы ожидать. Модные журналы не прекратили своей деятельности. Они настоятельно рекомендовали женщинам следить за собой, так как ухоженная внешность способствовала повышению боевого духа. Задача была не из легких. В Европе и в Соединенных Штатах с начала войны были введены строгие ограничения на материалы и фасоны, что позволило переориентировать легкую промышленность и ресурсы на военные нужды.

Наиболее суровыми были правила в отношение обуви: кожа шла исключительно на пошив сапог для военных, а материалами для гражданской обуви стали фетр, волокно конопли, дерево, резина, синтетика и переработанные отходы кожевенного производства. Регулирование также коснулось фасонов, ограничив высоту каблука: например, в Америке разрешалось носить каблук не более 2,5 см, в то время как в Великобритании – до 5 см. Рекомендовалось покупать удобную обувь на плоской подошве или танкетке.

Модные журналы пропагандировали в сложившейся обстановке новый код элегантности, образцом которого стал «утилитарный» стиль. Женщинам рекомендовали покупать практичные добротные вещи, которые можно использовать не один сезон. Широкое распространение получила практика «сделай сам»: рекомендации касались того, как старые вещи могут быть переделаны в новые и прослужить еще какое-то время.

Внешний вид обуви значительно «утяжелился» и потерял изящность и легкомыслие тридцатых. Платформа и пробковая танкетка, обтянутые тканью или кожей, получили широкое распространение еще до войны, но их стали делать без покрытия, оставляя пробку открытой, чтобы сберечь материалы. Журнал «Vogue» рекомендовал женщинам «оживить» обувь с помощью цветной окантовки или ярких ленточек, которые не попадали под строгие ограничения законов.

Проблема отсутствия чулок решалась с помощью косметических средств. Например, на обнаженных ногах рисовали задний шов с помощью карандаша для бровей, что требовало немалой сноровки. Некоторые салоны специализировались на том, чтобы по утрам наносить на ноги работающих женщин специальную краску. Те, кому были недоступны перечисленные средства, оттеняли цвет ног с помощью цикория и чайной заварки или носили носки.

Окончание войны не сразу отменило ограничения, многие из которых оставались в силе еще долгое время. Модный переворот в конце десятилетия совершил Кристиан Диор, который представил свою коллекцию в 1947 году. Силуэт, предложенный Диором, – маленькие покатые плечи, затянутая талия, высоко поднятый пышный бюст и широкие юбки до щиколотки культивировали образ роскошной соблазнительницы. Власти были шокированы таким вызовом, когда экономность и скромность еще продолжали оставаться среди общественных добродетелей. Однако женщины в Европе и Америке приняли стиль моментально. Получившая название «нью лук», коллекция была ответом на глубинное желание общества поскорее забыть тяготы войны и вернуться к нормальной жизни, где были развлечения, мода и женственность.

Массивные платформы и танкетки стали неуместны со стилем “нью лук” и были заменены узкими «лодочками» и сандалиями. Итальянские и французские дизайнеры обуви стремились максимально сузить каблук, чтобы придать изящность и хрупкость новому женственному силуэту.

Картотека