Centuries and Decades 1840-1870

1840-1870

Fashion trends in the second half of the nineteenth century.

The machine-made production was a remarkable achievement of the American industry in the second half of the nineteenth century, resulting in availability of huge quantity of relatively good footwear. Nevertheless, English footwear made to order with a fine dressed leather, remained the best. Just as English wool in clothes, these made to order shoes, became the standard of quality.

Introduction of front lacing half boots with the closed instep, which were named balmoral, was an important event in footwear fashion of the second half of the 19th century. This type of footwear was called after the name of the castle Balmoral, built by the spouse of Queen Victoria Prince Albert (1819-1861) approximately in 1853. The name of the castle - a royal residence in Aberdeenshire, Scotland, from now on became equivalent to anything new and elegant.

From the middle of century any boots with front lacing on the instep, started to be called Oxfords. Black or yellowy-brown leather boots were worn in winter, and oxfords - in summer. Later oxfords started to be worn in winter accompanied with leggings or gaiters. Black patent pump remained to the choice for the elegant evening dress.

At home men wore mules made of color Morocco leather, while ladies preferred mules of fabric or the softest leather. Throughout nearly the whole nineteenth century one last served to manufacture footwear on the right and left legs. Such soles were called straight.


Index

Периоды 1840-1870 годы

1840-1870 годы

Тенденции второй половины девятнадцатого века

Машинное производство было замечательным достижением американской промышленности второй половины девятнадцатого века, которое позволило обуть огромное количество людей в обувь относительно неплохого качества. Но по-прежнему английская обувь, сшитая по индивидуальному заказу из прекрасно выделанной кожи, оставалась лучшей. Она, так же как английская шерсть в одежде, стала эталоном качества.

Событием моды 50-х было появление обуви на передней шнуровке или полусапожек с закрытым подъемом, которые назвались balmoral. Впервые их надел супруг королевы Виктории, принц Альберт (1819-1861), приблизительно в 1853 году. Он воздвиг новый замок под названием Балморал (Balmoral), ставший королевской резиденцией в Абердиншире в Шотландии, и с того момент все новое и элегантное получало название “балморал”.

С середины столетия "оксфордом" стали называть любой ботинок на шнуровке по подъему. Черные или желто-коричневые кожаные бoтильоны носили зимой, а летом – оксфорды. Затем оксфорды стали носить и зимой тоже вместе с гетрами или гамашами. Нарядной обувью для мужчин по-прежнему оставалась черная лаковая лодочка. Домашней обувью были мюли из цветного сафьяна для джентльмена, а матерчатые или из тончайшей кожи – для леди.

Почти весь девятнадцатый век одна прямая колодка служила для изготовления обуви на правую и левую ноги. Такие подошвы называют симметричными.


Картотека