Brands Daniel Green

Daniel Green

History
In 1881, Daniel Green, a young traveling shoe salesman for the Wallace Elliott Company in New York City, visited Dolgeville New York. He was shown a pair of felt shoes fashioned from waste pieces of piano felt which had been made in the Dolgeville Felt Mill. These felt shoes were worn by many factory workers to keep their feet warm and comfortable on the cold factory stone floors.

Daniel was so impressed by the warmth and comfort, that he took a pair back with him to his home in Canastota New York to show his brother William. These two enthusiastic young men returned to Dolgeville and met Felt Mill owner Mr. Dolge, to see if they could arrange for the manufacture of felt shoes and slippers for them to sell to the shoe trade. Mr. Dolge agreed to make all the felt footwear and gave the Green Brothers the sole agency. The Green brothers returned to Canastota, and in a room over the kitchen in Daniel's house, the business was founded.

Both Daniel and William carried samples of felt slippers, and during 1882, 600 pair were sold. The second year, 2400 pair was sold and in 1884 they sold 24,000 pair. In 1885, the felt shoes and slippers were made with felt heels, and could be worn either in the street or in the boudoir. Fancy colored felt was added with white piano felt soles and sales jumped to 75,000 pair.

With the business rapidly expanding, the company moved to Utica New York, and eventually to New York City. Daniel died in 1891 and soon after his death, the company was incorporated in New York State.

Daniel Green Today

Over 100 million pair laterDaniel Green slippers today continue to represent the very same high quality and unparalleled comfort as they did during the days of Daniel and William Green. While many of the styles remain very classic and traditional, the Daniel Green slipper collection today has also expanded into a wide variety of new looks, fashion, and utilityinside and outside the home.

Index

Торговые марки Daniel Green

Daniel Green

В 1881 году Даниэль Грин, работавший в то время агентом в обувной компании Wallace Elliott, посетил город Долджвиль, там ему показали пару обуви, сделанную из отходов фортепианного войлока. Этот материал производился в том же городе, и на фабрике многие рабочие носили подобную обувь, которая позволяла сохранять ноги в тепле, несмотря на холодные каменные полы в цехах.

Теплая и комфортная обувь настолько поразила Даниэля, что он привез эту пару домой в Канастоту, чтобы показать своему брату Уильяму. Вскоре эти два молодых, полных энтузиазма брата вернулись в Долджвиль, чтобы встретиться с владельцем войлочной фабрики, господином Долджем, и договориться с ним о производстве войлочных тапочек и обуви. Долдж согласился начать производство и дал братьям исключительное право на торговлю этой обувью. Братья вернулись в Канастоту и организовали собственную компанию.


В первый год братьям удалось продать 600 пар, на следующий – 2400, а в 1884 они продали уже 24 тысячи пар свой обуви. В 1885 году стали популярны войлочные туфли с войлочными каблуками, их носили и дома, и на улице. С появлением новых цветов войлока и продажи возросли до 75 тысяч пар в год.


Бизнес успешно развивался, и вскоре компания переехала в город Утика, штат Нью-Йорк, а затем и в сам город Нью-Йорк. Даниэль скончался в 1891 году, а бизнес продолжили его родственники.


С того времени компания произвела свыше ста миллионов пар обуви и продолжает пользоваться успехом на рынке комфортной домашней и уличной обуви. Многие стили стали традиционными и даже классическими, но компания постоянно расширяет свой ассортимент, совершенствует дизайн и следит за появлением новых материалов.

Картотека