Brands C.M. Clapp

C.M. Clapp

Cassius M. Clapp was born in the town of Canton, Norfolk county, Mass., February 23, 1853. Mr. Clapp was educated in the public schools and at Stoughtonbam Institute in his native state, and obtained his first business experience as a clerk in a country store, after which he became a clerk in the retail shoe business near Boston, later engaged in the wholesale boot and shoe trade in Boston.

In December, 1873, Mr. Clapp has started his own shoe business, locating in Marlboro, Mass., and afterward established stores in various cities in that state and New York, gaining a high reputation in the shoe trade. Later he engaged in the manufacture of shoes at Brockton, Mass. In June 1889 he came to Buffalo, incorporated the C. M. Clapp Co., and opened what was then considered one of the finest and handsomest shoe stores in the United States.

In June, 1897, he withdrew from the firm and business to accept the management of the Buffalo office of the Depew Syndicate, which was incorporated for the purpose of aiding in the development and growth of Depew, with the aim to make it one of the foremost manufacturing cities and railroad centers the USA.

Source:

Our County and its people

A descriptive work on Erie County, New York

Edited by: Truman C. White

The Boston History Company, Publishes 1898
Index

Торговые марки C.M. Clapp

C.M. Clapp

Кассиус М. Клэпп родился в городе Кантон, округ Норфолк, штат Массачусутс, 23 февраля 1853 года. Образование он получил в государственной школе и в Стоутонском Институте в своем родном штате. Первую работу Клэпп получил в качестве клерка в окружном магазине, в дальнейшем работал в розничной компании неподалеку от Бостона, а затем занялся оптовой торговлей обувью в Бостоне.

В декабре 1873, Кассиус Клэпп начал свое собственное обувное дело в городе Мальборо, штат Массачусетс, а чуть позже открыл сеть магазинов в различных городах своего штата и в Нью-Йорке, заслужив самую высокую репутацию в своей отрасли. В дальнейшем он занялся производством обуви в городе Броктон. В июне 1889 он переезжает в Буффало, где регистрирует компанию “C. M. Clapp Co.” и открывает магазин, считавшися одним из самых лучших и красивейших обувных магазинов в Америке.

В июне 1897 Клэпп оставляет фирму и обувной бизнес и возглавляет офис Синдиката Дэпью в Буффало, задачей которого было превращение города Депью в один из самых развитых производственных и железнодорожных центров страны.

Источник:

http://www.onlinebiographies.info
Картотека