Brands Acme Boots

Acme Boots

Acme Boots was founded in 1929 by two Chicago shoe manufacturers, Jessel Cohn and his son, Sidney, who initially were childrens and infants' shoemakers. The moved from Chicago, Illinois to Clarksville, Tennessee, where they set up their new factory and called it the Acme Shoe Manufacturing Company.

The Cohns family continued making childrens sandals and shoes under the name Just-Kids, which sold for 40 to 50 cents a pair, until 1935. The same year, while on a business trip to Texas, senior Cohn spotted a pair of western boots and impressed by the price of 65 dollars, he decided to take a pair of boots with him to study the how they were made. Having studied the construction of the boots, he and his son decided they could produce the boots on an assembly line, keeping the same quality, but making them cheaper.

Their new line of boots was so successful that after some time they stopped producing childrens shoes and the company was renamed Acme Boots. In the 1940s, Acme Boots became the largest maker of cowboy boots and remained the world's largest until the 1980s.

Acme Boots has since been held by various corporations, including Arena Brands of Dallas, Texas, which licensed the Acme Brand to the Texas Boot Company of Lebanon, Tennessee in 2000, which in its turn put the brand up for sale in 2002, when it was acquired by H.H. Brown, a subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway, and placed under the Double-H Boots brand label, where it remains today.

Index

Торговые марки Acme Boots

Acme Boots

Компания Acme Boots была основана в 1929 году Джесселом Коном и его сыном Сиднеем - производителями детской обуви из Чикаго. Они перенесли свое производство из Чикаго в штате Иллинойс в город Кларксвиль в штате Тенесси, и назвали компанию Acme Shoe Manufacturing Company.

До 1935 года семья Конов продолжала выпускать детскую обувь под маркой Just-Kids, продавая ее по 40 - 50 центов за пару. В том же году старший Кон во время деловой поездки в Техас увидел пару ковбойских сапог, которые продавались по 60 долларов. Он решил приобрести пару, чтобы посмотреть как она сделана. Тщательно изучив конструкцию сапогов, Коны решили, что смогут наладить их машинное производство с таким же качеством, но по более доступным ценам.

Новая линия ковбойских сапогов была настолько успешной, что через некоторое время компания прекратила выпуск детской обуви и была переименована в Acme Boots. В 1940-х компания становится крупнейшим производителем ковбойских сапог и почти полвека оставалась первой в мире по объему производства.

С 1980-х компания Acme Boots сменила несколько владельцев, включая Arena Brands, которая в 2000 году передала лицензию на марку компании Texas Boot Company, а та, в свою очередь, выставила его на продажу в 2002 году. Acme Boots была приобретена компанией H.H. Brown, являющейся подразделением Berkshire Hathaway, и в настоящее время сапоги выпускаются под маркой Double-H Boots.

Картотека