Brands Joseph Magnin

Joseph Magnin

The Joseph Magnin Company was a high-end specialty department store founded in San Francisco, California by Joseph Magnin.

Joseph was the son of Isaac and Mary Ann Magnin, who founded the I.Magnin & Co. high-end specialty department store. Joseph Magnin was active in the running of the I. Magnin Co. until 1913. He had been passed over by Mary Ann, offering more prominent company positions to her other three sons John, Samuel and Grover. Joseph left I. Magnin and cashed in his share of ownership. After a short time in real estate he went back to retail and bought into a store called Newman-Levinson. Later as he bought out his partners he changed the name to Joseph Magnin Co.

Initially Joseph Magnin was a midrange supplier of apparel and millinery and was viewed as a second-rate I.Magnin, earning a nickname the other Magnin. For many years Joseph Magnin Co. operated in the shadows of I. Magnin. I. Magnin had many established providers of better fashions and demanded exclusivity; the sellers were barred from selling to Joseph Magnin if they wished to continue to do business with I. Magnin. Joseph Magnin at times did use consumer confusion on the Magnin name to their advantage by calling the store J. Magnin in signage, advertisements, and store bags. The store also self identified as JM.

After the World War II, under the leadership of Josephs son Cyril Magnin, the Joseph Magnin Co. went more upscale and began courting the younger womans market. JM advertisements were distinctive as being glamorous, sophisticated, trendy and youthful. The San Francisco store also included the Wolves Den, for men only. Men could shop in a clublike area while seated, served martinis, smoking cigars, and being shown merchandise by JM's most attractive women.

In 1967, the chain reached its peak popularity with over 32 stores. It had become one of the premier luxury department store chains in the country. In 1969 Cyril Magnin arranged for the Joseph Magnin Co. to be purchased by Amfac, Inc. of Hawaii. Amfac owned Liberty House, among other stores, on the West Coast and Hawaii. Cyril remained the chairman of the board of JM. In 1984 Amfac closed the Joseph Magnin Co., the same year as the West Coast Liberty House stores were closed.

During the 1960s, Betty Brader became one of the chief illustrators of Joseph Magnin posters. She also worked for Neiman-Marcus, Saks, Franklin Simon, and various advertising agencies. Brader won numerous awards throughout her career for her innovative illustrations. Her style of fashion illustration is copied widely today by fashion illustrators.The posters she produced for Joseph Magnin were highly acclaimed in the San Francisco Bay Area.
Joseph Magnin cooperated with many American and international shoe designers, and manufacturers, including Herbert Levine, Margaret Gerrold, Dan Berk, Sabrina, Carel, Leon Unatine, Palizzio, Mister and others.

Based on the text from Wikipedia
Index

Торговые марки Joseph Magnin

Joseph Magnin

Компания Joseph Magnin была основана универсальный магазин высокого класса в Сан-Франциско, Калифорния, США, Джозефом Маньином.

Джозеф был сыном Исаака и Мэри Маньин, которые открыли свой первый магазин под маркой I. Magnin & Co. еще в 1876 году. Постепенно небольшой магазин начинавший с качественной одежды для детей, превратился в один из самых роскошных магазинов в США. Джозеф, как и трое его братьев принимал участие в управлении делами компании, но в 1913 году, посчитав, что он получил незаслуженно низкую должность, он вышел из семейного бизнеса.

Деньги полученные от продажи свое доли, Джозеф первоначально решает вложить в недвижимость, но вскоре вновь проявляет интерес к розничной торговле. Он покупает сначала долю, а затем и весь магазин под названием Newman-Levinson и переименовывает его в Joseph Magnin Co.
Первое время компания Joseph Magnin являлась поставщиком товара среднего уровня и считалась второразрядной компанией. Долгое время находясь в тени родительской компании I. Magnin, компания Джозефа заслужила прозвище “другой Маньин”. Фирма I. Magnin имела ряд первоклассных поставщиков и требовала от них эксклюзивных отношений, запрещая им поставлять товар своему конкуренту. Конечно, Джозеф использовал близость названий компаний, сократив название своего магазина до J. Magnin, которое он использовал в рекламе, упаковке и оформлении. Иногда магазин использовал инициалы JM.

После Второй Мировой войны под руководством сына Джозефа Сирила магазин серьезно поднял уровень товара и нацелился на более молодежную женскую клиентуру. Реклама магазина стала более гламурной, модной и молодежной. В главном магазине в Сан-Франциско существовал отдел, расчитанный исключительно на мужчин - Волчья Берлога, в которой мужчины, в обстановке напоминающей клубную, курили сигары, потягивали мартини и выбирали товар, представляемый им самыми красивыми девушками компании.
В 1967 году сеть достигла своего пика и насчитывала 32 магазина. Она стала одной их первоклассных люксовых сетей универсамов в США. В 1969 году Сирил Маньин договорился о продаже сети компании Amfac, Inc. of Hawaii, которые владели сетью Liberty House. Сирил долгое время оставался в руководстве компании, но в 1984 Amfac закрыла магазины the Joseph Magnin Co., а чуть позже и свою сеть West Coast Liberty House.

В 1960-е годы главным дизайнером рекламы компании была Бетти Брэдер, которая также сотрудничала с Neiman-Marcus, Saks, Franklin Simon, и известными рекламными агентсвами. Ее инновауионный стиль в рекламе часто копировался другими художниками, а сама она завоевала множество призов. Плакаты, созданные Брэдер для компании Joseph Magnin высоко ценились в Сан-Франциско. Компания Joseph Magnin сотрудничала со многими американскими и международными обувными дизайнерами и производителями обуви, среди которых Herbert Levine, Margaret Gerrold, Dan Berk, Sabrina, Carel, Leon Unatine, Palizzio, Mister и другие
Основано на материале статьи из Wikipedia
Картотека